top of page

Maceda's winning streaks are TED-like

From a simple dry-run to September 19, MASSCOM student Mr Bon Christian Maceda will have a repeat of his TED-like presentation on FILLENIALISM: CURIOUSITY, ADVENTURE, AND LOVE that was held first in the NURSING IDEA BOX of the College Library Monday afternoon with College librarians, College Community Service person Yassir, and Service Learning students namely, Paul, Leomelie, and Mary Faye Janelli. Here's what he says, she says, they say about this very first College Library Creatives Workshop:

FROM Paul Andrew Tatad OF 12: Diplomacy:

When I came to listen to the presentation of Kuya Don, I was fully engaged with him as were the people around him. I didn't expect to learn so much in just an hour's time but it was so insightful to me that topics from BPO call centers to the Conyo Language on how relatable these topics that I never once thought of is so ingrained in everyday life, here in the Philippines. I would really want to invite as many people to presentations like Kuya Don's or the College Library Creatives Workshop, you would be able to learn so much and explore more deeper into new ideas and new ways of thinking. It just as if we have our very own Ted-Ed speakers and events here in and only exclusively for Southville students. You've got to see it to believe it!

FROM Leomelie Cuaresma

I learned things during the dry run for the workshop which include the topic about Fillennials, languages that emerged such as the "Beki Language," "Conyo," "Jejemon," and the like. The said things were followed by things that are going to be helpful once you apply for a job that is call center related. I find those things very helpful because it was highly informative and I Iearned new things from it. From the workshop, a person can gain insights and knowledge on what it is like to work in a bank, become a call center agent, what the appropriate things do or say during an interview, and many more. I highly encourage people to attend and take part in the actual workshop due to the benefits they could get from it.

FROM Mary Faye Janell Reyes

Today, on Sept. 3, 2018 I was asked to participate to critique an activity that the college library has in stored, and that is the Creative workshop Program. the dry run for today's discussion about Fillennialism". I learned that filipino millenials use languages like gaylingo, jejemon, and conyo as a norm of today's society. I realized that more people use conyo than gaylingo and jejemon, and it is quite interesting because it has a sense of humor and a touch of knowledge, not knowing that sometimes we actually speak this way unintentionally.

FROM Mahmoud, Yassir A., BSIT

During my time serving in the library as per community service, I had the opportunity to participate in a presentation screening conducted by Bon Christian Maceda, who will be presenting his slides for an event set up by the SISC Library called the College Library Creatives Workshop. To keep things clear but concise, his presentation’s contents covers Fillenials, Business Process Outsourcing, and the unique Beki and Jejemon slang in Filipino culture. During his presentation, I was astounded by how immersive each slide was, he really put a lot of content in these slides yet he was able to explain each of them in a clear and concise manner – a few of the other spectators informed him that the presentation was congested and overly-detailed yet I thought quite the opposite, I really think the influx of information he had inputted onto his slides make it stand out in a way – it was very informative and clear to understand; the more content, the better – so long as you can explain it that is, which he seemed to have no problems doing so.

My favorite part about the whole presentation was of the BPOs – I was already aware that call centers go through a lot in their daily routines, but I wasn’t aware that the process of becoming a BPO representative was that difficult and the benefits of being one – oh my, the benefits are abundant. Knowing the terms that BPO employees use is also good to know, especially if one were to work in that field. I also believed the slides covering the slang languages were also detailed in their own right – confusing at first, but once he clarified them, it became clear and it was interesting to say the least. Overall, the presentation was great however I only advise Mr. Maceda to keep calm, cool, and collected during the actual presentation on September 19, 2018; he has a good presentation and he presented it well – however, anxiety can easily topple a perfect tower if not properly handled but I have faith in him and believe that he will excel in the presentation.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page